Interview with Yoji Biomehanika...

Discussion in 'Music' started by Doggie, Nov 2, 2002.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

1. Doggie

Doggie Registered User

Interview with Yoji Biomehanika...

How did you get into DJing?
    I was an artist before I became a DJ. As an artist, I did various productions and finally got into to dance music. The most appropriate position to promotethe music I was playing was to be a DJ.

Which DJs have inspired you?
    There is no one by whom I have especially inspired. However, my various friends always keep stimulating me a lot in various
    ways.

What are your favourite labels?
    There are lots of labels which I like. Recently I have been getting into Headline Records in Germany. Oliver Klitzing is a really talented producer. STIK from Italy has wonderful ideas I think. In UK, I pay attention to Tidy Two's future activities. I always focus on producers rather than labels. In Germany, DJ Scot Project and Hennes & Cold are always fantastic, and in UK, I always check LAB4's work. Also Thomas Trouble from US and Zenith DJ from Italy create plenty of interesting tracks.

You have also released several tracks and remixed people like DJ Scot Project and T-99. How did you get into music production?
    I had been producing music long before I became a DJ. I was also in a band. I did various kinds of music from punk rock to any electronic music. I have become a very good producer as a result of this. However, I cannot read music scores so when I get an idea I immediately rush to my studio, even if it is midnight to put the idea in my computer otherwise I will totally forget the idea, ha ha ha. Occasionally I first get phrases and start production, or sometimes I build the groove first. The way of production varies every time I make a track. I am always excited when I am make music in my studio.
    I am going to corroborate with various people.

Where did the idea for the Hellhouse label come from?